May 2017 meeting

Standard

We are off to Canada for our meeting in May.  Terry Aske is the guest artist and is should be an amazing program.  Here are the details.

When:                    Saturday, May 13, 2017

Who:                       Terry Aske, Canadian Quilter

Where:                 St. Faith Anglican Church, Vancouver, BC

Time:                       Registration starts at 9:30 a.m.  Program starts at 10:00 a.m.

PROGRAM:       terry My earliest creative memory is from kindergarten, making a mosaic from seeds and beans. This was the beginning of a life-long quest to find the perfect medium to express myself. A friend invited me to join her at a one-day quilting course. Finally, I had found an artistic medium that fascinated and inspired me! I discovered the work of other art quilters and started designing my own quilts. The design and construction of fabric-based art has become my passion.

My style is contemporary, and I create both art quilts and abstract/modern quilts. I use a variety of techniques – machine-piecing, fusible appliqué, thread-sketching and free-motion-quilting are among those I employ most frequently. The design of a piece always evolves during the creative process, and the final quilt is often quite different from my original concept. My goal is to continue to evolve as an artist, exploring new subject matter and techniques in my art quilts.

DIRECTIONS:

St. Faith’s Anglican Church, 7284 Cypress St., Vancouver, B. C.  Remember there is an elevator available if needed—just ask!

Take 1-5 North into Canada to Vancouver via the Peace Arch crossing.   I-5 North becomes Provincial Route 99N. Continue north (you will go through a tunnel, then cross the Oak Street Bridge), after the bridge, turn left at W. 57th and continue west.  Turn right onto Cypress.   St. Faith’s church is located at Cypress and W 57th, before you reach the railroad tracks.

BRING TO THE MEETING:

Exchange Block

Auffle items

Show and Share Items

Name Tag, Cash for Auffle

Admission for NQC members is paid for with membership.  $7 for non-members and for guests.

Bag lunch.

 

Leave a Reply

